Blackboard Due Dates and Test Dates

The time zone is set automatically by data from your internet browser. In courses, the time zone for due dates and calendar items is responsive to the time zones of the users. If a due date of 11:00PM Eastern time is assigned, a student in the Pacific time zone will see a due date of 8:00PM.

Items, Assignments, and tests can have their availability set via the Display After/Display Until Date Selector:mceclip0.png

Display After/Display Until times are Eastern time and appear at the Eastern time equivalent for all students. If a test is set up to Display after 10:30PM and Display Until 1:30PM, the test displays:

            10:30AM – 1:30PM Eastern Time

            9:30AM – 12:30PM Central Time

            7:30AM – 10:30PM Pacific Time

In practice, this is all the same time, but will need to be accounted for when scheduling exams.

For example, let’s say a faculty member in the pacific time zone wants to schedule an exam for 6PM-8PM PST. Since Display After/Display Until is Eastern time, the faculty member will need to select 9PM – 11PM respectively for the availability:mceclip1.png

This test will display at:

            9:00PM – 11:00PM Eastern Time

            8:00PM – 10:00PM Central Time

            6:00PM – 8:00PM Pacific Time (the desired test time)

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.